Marathon City Police Department

The Marathon City Police department has progressed over the years from having a village marshal to having a police chief, one full time officer, and five part time police officers.

 chief=Chief Kory Gertschen

Officer Andrew CrabbOfficer Andrew Crabb

Contact Information

Marathon City Police Email:

Marathon City Police Department
311 Walnut Street
Marathon, Wisconsin 54448

Emergency Phone:
Non-Emergency Phone:
(715) 443-2470

Community Involvement

The Marathon City Police Department is heavily involved in the community it protects. Marathon City Police Officers volunteer their off duty time for the following programs

  • DARE
  • Marathon Fun Run and Kickball Tournament (benefits local charities)
  • Special Olympics Wisconsin
  • Lion's Club
  • American Legion
  • Hunter's Safety
  • Snowmobile Safety

    Marathon City Police Department History


    The earliest police logs were found in the “Police Justice Docket” dated July 2nd, 1924. Herman Greuger was the acting marshal. The Police Justice Docket was a hand written log of arrests, citations, and court rulings.

    It listed offenses, how the accused plead in the case, and citation amount. Marathon City held its own court proceedings. Citations ranged from $5.00 for being intoxicated in public to $25.00 for speeding in the village limits. Ninety percent of the logged complaints were for being intoxicated in public, fighting, and speeding in the village.

    Being intoxicated was a violation of Prohibition which was enforced from 1920 to 1933. In some cases offenders were put on probation under the village marshal for as much as 30 days. The Police Justice Docket was used to record violations from July 2nd, 1924 until September 20th, 1941.

    Around March 20th, 1926, John Dreugler became the acting Marathon City Marshal
    Around December 23rd, 1926, Gust Franke became the acting Marathon City Marshal
    Around August 12th, 1937, S. C. Krueger became the acting Marathon City Marshal
    Around September 7th, 1937, Matt Vetter became the acting town Marathon City Marshal

    Additional Marathon City Marshals and Police Chiefs

    * Names are not in chronological order*

    • Ed Wagner
    • Dick Seubert
    • Mark Lang
    • George Ellis
    • Dale Sauter
    • Lauren Knoeck
    • Kory Gertschen (present police Chief)

    More Photos:

    Marathon Police

    Phone Directory

    Administration 715-443-2221
    Library 715-443-2775
    Post Office 715-443-2026


    April 2014
    S M T W T F S
    30 31 1

    Category: General2014 Spring Election


    April 1, 2014N/A

    2014 Spring Election
    Polls located at Village Hall
    Voting Hours 7:00 a.m. to 8 p.m.

    2 3

    Category: GeneralVillage Board Meeting


    April 3, 2014N/A

    4 5
    6 7 8 9 10 11 12
    13 14 15 16 17 18 19

    Category: GeneralEaster Egg Hunt


    April 19, 2014

    Easter Egg Hunt

    20 21 22

    Category: GeneralUtility Board Meeting


    April 22, 2014N/A

    23 24

    Category: GeneralCommunity Garage Sales


    April 24, 2014N/A

    Village Wide Garage Sales


    Category: GeneralCommunity Garage Sales


    April 25, 2014N/A

    Village Wide Garage Sales

    27 28 29 30 1

    Category: GeneralVillage Board Meeting


    May 1, 2014N/A

    2 3

    April 17, 2014, 1:23 pm
    13 mph
    real feel: 34°F
    current pressure: 30 in
    humidity: 75%
    wind speed: 13 mph WNW
    wind gusts: 13 mph
    UV-Index: 2
    sunrise: 6:11 am
    sunset: 7:46 pm